by Yvonne Platts

Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen, in whom my soul delights; I have put my spirit upon him; he will bring forth justice to the nations. – Isaiah 42:1-9

Marchers in Selma, days after Bloody Sunday. (Tuesday, March 9, 1965.) This image is a work of a United States Department of Justice employee, taken or made as part of that person's official duties. As a work of the U.S. federal government, the image is in the public domain (17 U.S.C. § 101 and 105).

Marchers in Selma, days after Bloody Sunday. (Tuesday, March 9, 1965. This image is a work of a United States Department of Justice employee, taken or made as part of that person’s official duties. As a work of the U.S. federal government, the image is in the public domain (17 U.S.C. § 101 and 105).)

As a Servant who has been called many times to many places, most recently to take part in a Civil Rights Legacy “Bloody Sunday,” I am always in awe seeing God’s handiwork on display. It was a warm and sunny day when our ten buses from ten different cities arrived well before noon for the rally and march that was to begin at 1pm. Right away my spirit got swept up with joy as preparations were being completed. Vendors had their tables full of cultural and historical displays, charcoal was burning in the massive grills and music pumping through the air.

Yet I knew this was more than just a good time. Fifty years after Bloody Sunday, we can clearly see a continuing pattern of systemic injustice within our police departments and government laws and policies affecting voting rights of the poor, elderly and people of color. Monday morning, I was back to work, though not as usual: this experience has left a profound effect that has changed me forever.

I can no longer be comfortable with the status quo, nor wait on the side-lines for someone else to step-up. Now is the time! Change must come! The time is now! Reclaiming the best from our leaders in Selma who walk, were beaten and bloodied to secure voting rights will help us to organize, move forward and bring justice back to our urban communities.

I am on a personal campaign to register all the 18-year-old youth I come across in my community. I am working alongside others to bring political awareness through identifying candidates who will truly work with us to create a beloved community and are worthy of our vote. I am using my gifts and talents to lift spirits, encourage souls, and inspire minds to stand against injustice anywhere and everywhere.

Oh, God, our Father, continue to fill us with your power to speak out and stand against injustices we see and face within our communities and areas of influence. Let us not miss out on opportunities to share your grace, show your love and be a blessings to others. May we be bold servants for your kingdom, fearlessly speaking the truth in love.


Yvonne Platts is a Roots of Justice trainer and an organizer in the Philadelphia area.

